KiteBack office

Data · reviewed 10 September 2026 The Franchise Fee Index 2026. What 29 systems charge, and on what.

Royalty and brand-fund rates for 29 franchise systems across restaurants, hotels, fitness and wellness, with the sales figure each is charged on. 23 rows come from the franchisor’s own filing or page, or a hotel owner’s SEC filing listing the fees in its own agreements; the rest from directories reporting a disclosure document, and they say so.

Download the CSV

Free to reuse under CC BY 4.0 — cite “Kite Franchise Fee Index 2026”.

Six findings

  1. 1

    The median restaurant royalty in the index is 5% of sales; with the brand fund the franchisor collects, restaurant brands take 6% to 11.5% of sales before rent.

  2. 2

    Fitness and wellness royalties run higher: the median is 7% in fitness and 6% across spa, salon and wellness brands.

  3. 3

    The same hotel brand charges different rates: one owner’s 16 Residence Inn agreements carry royalties from 5.0% to 6.0%, and its two Home2 Suites agreements 4.0% and 5.0%.

  4. 4

    Two of the salon and spa brands charge royalty on service sales only — European Wax Center and Supercuts leave retail out of the basis.

  5. 5

    Rates move with a location’s age and its agreement’s vintage: Supercuts and Cost Cutters charge 4% in the first year and 6% after, and only about 63% of Planet Fitness clubs paid its current 7% royalty in 2025 — the average was 6.7%.

  6. 6

    Definitions differ more than rates: Wingstop excludes third-party delivery fees and gift cards sold; Papa Johns charges on revenue net of certain taxes, discounts and refunds; Fairfield’s gross room sales allow no deduction for card fees or chargebacks.

Restaurants

BrandRoyaltyBrand fundCharged onNotesSource
Wingstop6%5.5%Gross Sales, excluding sales tax, coupon credits, employee discounts, third-party delivery fees and gift cards soldWeekly; $175 monthly technology feeWingstop 2025 FDDprimary
Domino’s5.5%6.0%SalesU.S. standard agreement; lower rates may apply under incentivesDomino’s Pizza, Inc. Form 10-K, fiscal 2025primary
Wendy’s4.0%3.5%SalesRoyalty monthly; national advertising for U.S. restaurantsThe Wendy’s Company Form 10-K, fiscal 2024primary
Papa Johns5%Gross revenue, net of certain taxes, discounts and refundsMarketing fund contribution required; rate not stated in the filingPapa John’s International Form 10-K, fiscal 2025primary
Jack in the Box5%5%Gross SalesJack in the Box franchise costs and feesprimary
Jersey Mike’s6.5%5% (1% + 4%)Gross ReceiptsCorporate Advertising and Development Fund 1%, National Media Fund 4%Jersey Mike’s franchise review 2025 (2025 FDD)secondary
Church’s Texas Chicken5%5%SalesChurch’s Texas Chicken franchise listingsecondary
Nothing Bundt Cakes6%5%Gross salesMonthlyNothing Bundt Cakes franchise deep dive (2025 FDD)secondary
Shipley Do-Nuts5%1% co-opSalesPlus 2% local store marketing spent by the franchisee, not collectedFranchise FAQprimary

Hotels

BrandRoyaltyBrand fundCharged onNotesSource
Fairfield by Marriott5.5%3.85% program services (incl. 2.5% marketing fund)Gross room sales, with no reduction for chargebacks or card feesProgram services also $7,000 a year and $135 per room a year; due by the 15thFairfield by Marriott 2024 FDDprimary
Residence Inn5.0–6.0%2.5%Gross room revenueIn force in 16 agreements, expiring 2026–2045Chatham Lodging Trust 2025 annual report, franchise agreements noteprimary
Courtyard5.5–6.0%2.0–2.5%Gross room revenueIn force in 3 agreementsChatham Lodging Trust 2025 annual report, franchise agreements noteprimary
SpringHill Suites5.0%2.5%Gross room revenueIn force in 1 agreementChatham Lodging Trust 2025 annual report, franchise agreements noteprimary
TownePlace Suites5.5%2.0%Gross room revenueIn force in 1 agreementChatham Lodging Trust 2025 annual report, franchise agreements noteprimary
Hampton Inn6.0%4.0%Gross room revenueIn force in 2 agreementsChatham Lodging Trust 2025 annual report, franchise agreements noteprimary
Hilton Garden Inn5.5%4.0–4.3%Gross room revenueIn force in 3 agreementsChatham Lodging Trust 2025 annual report, franchise agreements noteprimary
Embassy Suites5.5%4.0%Gross room revenueIn force in 1 agreementChatham Lodging Trust 2025 annual report, franchise agreements noteprimary
Homewood Suites4.0%3.5–4.0%Gross room revenueIn force in 2 agreementsChatham Lodging Trust 2025 annual report, franchise agreements noteprimary
Home2 Suites4.0–5.0%3.0–3.5%Gross room revenueIn force in 2 agreementsChatham Lodging Trust 2025 annual report, franchise agreements noteprimary
Hyatt Place5.0%3.5%Gross room revenueIn force in 2 agreementsChatham Lodging Trust 2025 annual report, franchise agreements noteprimary
Choice Hotels (U.S. system)5.14% averageGross room revenueAverage effective U.S. royalty rate for 2025 across the system’s brandsChoice Hotels International Form 10-K, fiscal 2025primary

Fitness

BrandRoyaltyBrand fundCharged onNotesSource
Planet Fitness7% (average 6.7%)~2%Monthly dues (royalty); monthly and annual dues (fund)63% of clubs paid the current 7% rate in 2025; fund rises to 3% and local marketing falls from 7% to 6% in 2026Planet Fitness, Inc. Form 10-K, fiscal 2025primary
Crunch Fitness5%2%Monthly gross salesLocal advertising at least $15,000 a month in year one, then the greater of $10,000 or 7%Franchise FAQprimary
Alloy Personal Training7%2%Gross salesPlus 5% spent on local marketingFranchise FAQsprimary

Spa, salon and wellness

BrandRoyaltyBrand fundCharged onNotesSource
The Joint Chiropractic7.0%2.0%Gross salesThe Joint Corp. Form 10-K, fiscal 2025primary
Massage Envy6%4% (2% + 2%)Gross salesWeekly; national advertising fund 2%, supplemental marketing fund 2%Massage Envy franchise deep dive (2025 FDD)secondary
European Wax Center6%3%Service sales (gross sales less retail products)European Wax Center, Inc. Form 10-K, fiscal 2025primary
Supercuts6% (4% in year one)5%Service revenueSupercuts franchise profile (2025 FDD)secondary
Cost Cutters4% for 52 weeks, then greater of 6% or $100/week4% (1% collected)Gross revenuesCost Cutters franchise review 2025 (2024 FDD)secondary

How it was compiled

  • Each row was read from its source in September 2026. Primary sources are franchise disclosure documents, Form 10-K filings and franchisors’ own franchise pages; hotel rows marked “in force” are one owner’s SEC-reported agreements, not list prices.
  • A figure the source does not state is left blank, never estimated. A system whose filing states only half its fees is either shown with the blank or left out.
  • “Brand fund” is the advertising or marketing contribution the franchisor collects. Local marketing a franchisee must spend itself is in the notes, not the column.
  • Rates are for new or standard agreements unless the row says otherwise. Your own agreement’s year governs what you pay.

Why a bookkeeper publishes this

Because the rate is the easy part. The sales figure each fee is charged on — what the definition includes, excludes and nets — decides whether a franchisee’s royalty is right, and it is the part that goes wrong. Read what counts as gross sales for royalty, or see how Kite keeps each brand’s rules.

Start with a few stores.

Four fields. A person replies within one business day.

No sequence, no newsletter. One reply from a person.